PDA

View Full Version : Griots random orbital

stangfreak
09-28-2012, 05:59 PM
Hey mike what's up. so I have a question since I am new to machine's. what happens if you go over the "sharp" edges on the car.

I was told if you go over them with a machine, that is the spot that will most likely get damaged first because its not a flat surface. I am really not sure how to go about detailing the car now since I was told that.

I will try to post a picture of a 2003 cobra hood to show you what im talking about. This is NOT my car guy's, so.

see how the hood has a lot of raises, edges etc? even where the hood meets the fender.

mwoolfso
09-28-2012, 06:20 PM
Edges will tend to receive more direct force from your hand or DA and with a smaller surface area you can get too aggressive without even realizing it; potentially more paint loss is possible compared to a non-edge surface.

Your safest approach would be to do those areas by hand and be mindful of how much pressure you are applying to the edges. Once you feel comfortable you may be able to go with a DA and get close enough to the edges while maintaining a level pad on the entire surface. It really depends on the body style, how sharp of an edge we are talking about, and lastly how much correction the edge really needs.

SR99
09-28-2012, 06:55 PM
Edges/metal bends can also tend to have thinner paint to start with.

You could get some narrow (e.g. 1/8" wide) green 3M series 233+ masking tape and put it over the edges to avoid direct pad contact. Or the 3M blue vinyl as shown in RaskyR1's pic below:
http://emob75.photobucket.com/albums/i288/Raskyr1/1968%20Firebird/IMG_3113.jpg?t=1273710941

Note the tape over the upper fender bend

stangfreak
09-28-2012, 07:22 PM
Edges will tend to receive more direct force from your hand or DA and with a smaller surface area you can get too aggressive without even realizing it; potentially more paint loss is possible compared to a non-edge surface.