PDA

View Full Version : New (Sort-of)

beckler
09-28-2012, 12:40 AM
Hi everyone! Great site! Looking forward to learning.

I've been doing work on cars for about three or four years now. I'm currently in college studying Auto Technology.

I don't make money detailing cars. I just focus on my own vehicles (nothing special, daily drivers).

Let me start off by what I currently use:

First, the basics. I use Meguires soap for cleaning. I used to use a chamois but now I've been using a water blade (professionally refered to as a cylicone water-blade thingy... I think). Minimizes water spots, and those goddam holograms from whiping with a microfiber cloth.

For detailing, I use meguires compound and Zymol show-car wax. IMO, Meguires is the best compound. When it comes to compound however, I'm not too experienced with what I'm doing. (Though I'm good at making it look like I know...) When applying compound, I use some cheap-ass variable speed gigantic wheel. (Some chinese brand).

Zymol is a teriffic product. Their wax is not available in stores. Though in my experience, Zymol (at least the model wax I use) is less of a shining wax and more of a protectant. My wax usually lasts 4 to 6 months on the car. Though I dont plan to give up my Zymol for protecting, I'd like to discover another product that's geared towards shining. I found a write-up online for something called a Black Fire treatment. No clue what it is, but it looks great.