PDA

View Full Version : Detail trim tape won't come off

Pages : [1] 2

cncwhiz
09-26-2012, 08:34 AM
Hi,

I'm new to this forum. I have a 94 Cadillac deville. The car is in very good condition. It does need detailing so I joined your forum to learn to detail my car correctly. My first order of things to do is the detail "tape" trim. The tape on one side of the car is 90% removed. It was not damaged by the sun and came off pretty good. On the other side of the car the tape seems to be burned on. Whatever I try to use to remove it, I can't remove any of it. What can I use to remove this tape sort of a sander and some 80 grit paper.

TIA

vet
09-26-2012, 09:13 AM
First, Welcome!

I'm no expert, but I'm sure somebody smarter than me will chime in with a good solution. Did you use regular masking tape or a painter's tape, and how long was it left on?

You could try goof off or goo gone, WD-40, or some mineral spirits. Perhaps some alcohol. Do a test spot first.

Flash Gordon
09-26-2012, 09:36 AM
Hi,

I'm new to this forum. I have a 94 Cadillac deville. The car is in very good condition. It does need detailing so I joined your forum to learn to detail my car correctly. My first order of things to do is the detail "tape" trim. The tape on one side of the car is 90% removed. It was not damaged by the sun and came off pretty good. On the other side of the car the tape seems to be burned on. Whatever I try to use to remove it, I can't remove any of it. What can I use to remove this tape sort of a sander and some 80 grit paper.

TIA

For the love of God keep that 80 grit paper away from your paint/trim

3M makes an adhesive remover that will get that off. You're going to need a lot of patience dealing with this issue. If you choose to use tape again be sure it's a 5 day automotive tape

Keep us posted

Mike Phillips
09-26-2012, 09:48 AM
Welcome to AutogeekOnline! :welcome: