PDA

View Full Version : Need some help...

subieguy2
09-24-2012, 08:22 AM
OK so I have been learning a lot about detailing thanks to this forum :)

I purchased a Porter Cable 7424 xp. Decided to give it a shot. I have been using it now for about 2 years I think. I am learning that every car is different. There are tips and tricks but to say do A, B, C every time to get a perfect detail doesn't happen.

So here is what I need help on. 2011 Subaru Forester...black. There are light swirls in the paint from the FREE dealership swirl-o-matic car wash with every oil change. So my friend asked if I could help. I have done many Subaru vehicles in the past...and said sure.

I know the paint is soft and the correction needed is minimal. Started out with a test spot on the hood. LC tangerine 4X1.25 pad and Meguiars M205. The correction was decent but could still see the swirls. So I did another section pass with the 205. Still see them. So I decided to do another small test area using Ultimate Compound which I know is pretty aggressive. It turned out PERFECT. So I proceed with the process. Front end completed and looks great. I start on the driver's side front door. Pull it out of the garage to check it and it looks like there is hologramming. So I use 205 to fine tune. (yes as I switch products I am switching pads and yes always using the LC tangerine). The holograms are still there. So I go pickup some Meguiars ScratchX 2.0 and terry cloth application pads and try to buff them out by hand. No luck. Here is what it currently looks like....

http://i49.tinypic.com/11gppxd.jpg

:(
Sorry for the upside down iPhone pic...

I am planning on picking up some 3M Ultrafina and the Ultrafina blue pad today.

Wondered if anyone can give some advice. Maybe my technique is wrong...or some other suggestion?

Appreciate all the help and posts to help me continue to learn an addicting hobby for me

subieguy2
09-24-2012, 09:15 AM
3M Ultrafine....sorry