PDA

View Full Version : Full detail

Cliffy
09-20-2012, 04:29 PM
Hello Everyone.

I am new to AG. I started doing a mobile detailing service about a year ago. When I do a full a detail, I compound it when needed, put on a polish then a wax. Now I have been looking through these forums and I see a lot of other things I can use. Any suggestions on what steps I should do to complete the ultimate detail? Also what is a paint cleanser used for?

Cliffy
09-20-2012, 04:32 PM
One other thing. I am using the meguiars da. Is this good for compounding or would I get better results with a rotary? And what are best products to use?

Bill1234
09-20-2012, 04:43 PM
Welcome to AG. A rotary is not very good fo you as you are new. I would stick with the DA for a couple of years until you are ready to move to a rotary. Here are some steps for a full detail

Wash rims (wheel cleaner and brushes )
wash (can be foam or car wash)
dry and clay if needed
correct paint
inside detail , degrease door jambs, and cracks wipe down leather and glass
exterior wax or apply sealent first then wax

ReflectiveAuto
09-20-2012, 07:02 PM
Welcome to AG. A rotary is not very good fo you as you are new. I would stick with the DA for a couple of years until you are ready to move to a rotary. Here are some steps for a full detail

Wash rims (wheel cleaner and brushes )
wash (can be foam or car wash)
dry and clay if needed
correct paint
inside detail , degrease door jambs, and cracks wipe down leather and glass
exterior wax or apply sealent first then wax

I agree...I use the GG "6 DA and I would be scared to use a rotory on a car. Ill stick to my DA.

Also add a very complete engine detail.

RoadRageDetail
09-20-2012, 07:56 PM
What products/pads/sealants/waxes are you using now? A little diversity goes a long way.