PDA

View Full Version : First paid detail

rdf
08-26-2012, 09:51 PM
I've done my cars, and those of family and friends, for a while. No pay, just for fun and to help them out. Got started in 2005 or so with Klasse twins (and used AG as an info source back then, too). Recently my brother asked me to help him with his wife's Lexus. He has his own PC, so we both worked on it. I had learned a lot of good ideas, good procedures, best practices, etc from the forum and from Mike's videos, and passed those along to him. We used Blackfire products, and they were very pleased. They met friends for lunch in the next few days, and the friends said hey, your car looks great, what did you do? My brother briefly explained the process to them.

Next day I get a text from my brother saying his friend wanted to know if I'd work on his truck. He told the friend I don't know if he's interested, we can check. I talked with him, explained I'm not a pro, here's what I do. He said he wanted to proceed. It was to be exterior only.

He drives it up, and it's this white F250 Heavy Duty Supercab 4x4 behemoth. I discovered that I am too short to work on something like that. :-) But, I did what I could.