PDA

View Full Version : Detailer?

TripleB
08-20-2012, 10:07 AM
Please forgive my ignorance...over the past 27 years I've basically just washed my car (in the wrong manner I now discover) and then waxed it ever so often. So all these products to keep your car looking brand new are new to me.

Now that I have another new car (Black 2013 Kia Optima), I want to treat this one right.

So I see this product called 'Detailer' or 'Quick Detailer' or 'the Ultimate Detailer' that I've never used before.

Can someone please explain to this newbie:
1) Is it important to use?
2) What is its purpose?
3) When do you use it (ie: right after drying, etc)?
4) Can you "spot" detail to remove smudges/fingerprints or do you need to do the whole car?
5) Which kind do you recommend?

Thanks again for all your help!!!

TripleB

Mike Phillips
08-20-2012, 10:39 AM

I'm assuming you mean the Meguiar's Quik Detailer in the maroon bottle and the Ultimate Quik Detailer in the black bottle?

2) What is its purpose?
4) Can you "spot" detail to remove smudges/fingerprints or do you need to do the whole car?

TripleB

Quick Detailer is in a category of products referred to as "Mist & Wipe" products, that is you mist them on and then wipe them off.

Spray Detailers are for removing,

Light dust
Fingerprints
Smudges
And most can also be used as a clay lubricant (Read Manufactures Recommendations first)

I have an article on this topic, kind of in-depth but leaves no stone unturned. It can be found in my article list (http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/ask-expert-featuring-mike-phillips/23722-articles-mike-phillips.html) under the heading,

Spray Detailers

Tips & Techniques for using a Spray Detailer to Remove Light Dust, Fingerprints and Smudges (http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/tricks-tips-techniques/23128-tips-techniques-using-spray-detailer-remove-light-dust-fingerprints-smudges.html)