PDA

View Full Version : Porter 7424XP or Foam cannon--OPINIONS!

Pages : [1] 2

FlawlessMustang
08-13-2012, 08:53 PM
I'm looking for something i'd like for my 4 year anniversary. I was originally looking at getting a foam cannon. Then I thought about getting a Porter cable 7424XP polisher. I know it's like comparing apples to oranges, but I really don't know which i'd like to get. I could use the Foam cannon every time I wash my car, but I would be able to apply AIO, glazes, waxes, etc. with the polisher more efficiently but it would only be used every few months probably. I've never used a polisher before, so i'd have a bit of a learning curve.

Which do you guys like more, and which would you recommend? I have a big feeling it will be the polisher since it has a wide variety of uses, but I figured i'd ask anyways. :o

Also, does the foam cannon really even help with bug guts that are stuck on the front? Mine seem to be etched into the paint although it's washed weekly and many times 2 to 3 times during the week.

Thanks.

Setec Astronomy
08-13-2012, 09:04 PM
About the bug etching, like bird poop, you need to get that stuff off as soon as possible to minimize the chance of etching. You have the calculus right, foam cannon used weekly, polisher used 2-3-4 times a year. The foamer helps you with your wash process to minimize marring (although other ways to skin that cat), while the polisher is going to allow you to correct the marring you (probably) already have.

You have to decide.

Eandras
08-13-2012, 09:27 PM
My suggestion would be the Griots 6" polisher. Once you have it you will ask how you got along with out. The foam cannon could be a birthday present.

MTLean
08-13-2012, 09:29 PM
My suggestion would be the Griots 6" polisher. Once you have it you will ask how you got along with out. The foam cannon could be a birthday present.

Haha i love the "birthday present" idea! I do not own a foam cannon but just got a PC recently and a DA polisher is my vote :)