PDA

View Full Version : Harley Aluminum Polishing

Scarelane
08-07-2012, 09:47 PM
Hi -

A friend at work inherited a Harley when his father passed away. He was asking me how to polish the engine side covers (not sure if that's the right description). I looked at the aluminum and it has a weird pattern on it. Like it might be salt damage? Which isn't out of the question here in MN. But you can't feel the defects. The aluminum feels smooth. I thought maybe a clear coat failure, but he said he tried to polish the aluminum and his rag turned black. So I'm assuming no clear coat.

Any ideas? I have zero experience with motorcycle detailing. I suppose I could take all of my metal polishes and cleaners over there and see what I can do.

Any help or ideas would be appreciated. I can take some pics too.

:buffing:

secchildhood
08-08-2012, 07:57 AM
Try any Billett aluminum cleaner. It has to say billett. I used aluminum cleaner on my catch can from water etching and it was a no go. I brought some Mother's Billett aluminum cleaner and it looks brand new.

tuscarora dave
08-08-2012, 08:28 AM
If there is no clear coat on those cases/covers, to get the best results he should consider removing them and buffing them out on a bench style buffing wheel using emory compound and polish sticks for cutting, polishing and finishing aluminum. As with polishing anything else, he may find that the least aggressive polishing or finishing stick will do the job just fine. On the other hand, if the salt damage is deep enough it may require some sanding first. Grit would depend on the severity of the salt etching of course.