PDA

View Full Version : Pro Shop vs new polisher

sportzfan76
07-31-2012, 09:36 AM
Hello -

I have been detailing my own vehs myself for the last several years myself....i have gathered a wealth of knowledge from this website.

Question envolves my black car. This one is by far the highest maintainance. I really struggle with time and effort to keep this car swirl free.
Currently using the McGuiars G110. Not sure if I should invest in the Flex 3401 and
continue the "paint correction" myself or just take this car to a pro w/Orbital 2 x a year for a polish, and continue to do the remaining steps myself ??? It seems that the pro can do a better job at this step than I can with my current equipment and several hours of labor for somewhat disapointing results.

Input appreciated. Thank you

Setec Astronomy
07-31-2012, 09:42 AM
What pads/products are you using with your G110?

sportzfan76
07-31-2012, 10:03 AM
What pads/products are you using with your G110?

I use Menzerna Intensive - usually with an Orange Pad and then Final with either white or Blue. I try to avoid using the Yellow pad. I use Mcguiars 105 with orange pad on the more difficult spots.

Car looks great in the shade, but in the sun....

Setec Astronomy
07-31-2012, 10:07 AM
What is that, a BMW? Does it have that really soft jet black paint? If so, I've heard stories about that being almost impossible to work with.

If it's just "regular" black, what do you want to do? Do you want to work on your technique, perhaps trying some other products/pads, or do you just want to punt and go to a pro?

BobbyG
07-31-2012, 10:25 AM
Most of the final results come from proper preparation and technique and all this comes from doing.

Black is not a color, it's a full time job. Keeping a black finish swirl free and driving it daily is nearly impossible and some concessions might need to be made.