PDA

View Full Version : Winter prep - DD kept outside Northeast

Pages : [1] 2

weekendwarrior
07-24-2012, 01:57 PM
Hi all, relative newbie here, questions for the experts:

Would like to get products to prep for winter here in Northeast PA. Daily driver, parked outside 100% of the time, 2010 Forester, dark grey. Not looking for super high end products, its a family vehicle DD, wanting durability, look decent, long lasting paint protection for many months of winter snow, ice, road salts etc. Won't have easy time washing/waxing vehicle during winter as I have no garage access.

What I did for July->
Wash (Meguiars cheap stuff, used up what I had left)
Clay bar (lube was ONR mix, clay was red generic bar from Amazon, the red bar not great FYI, liked Mothers yellow kit better)
M205 (just the hood for practice) with Orange and Green 6.5" CCS pads (came with kit)
LSP was Collinite 845, applied with PC7424xp red CCS pad, buffed by and with MF.

Will wash every week or two, with ONR, and Meguiars Ultimate Quik Wax touch ups afterwards. Waste of time with spray wax as touch up/extender?

For October, getting ready for winter treatment thinking of the following:
Buy 5.5" Orange/White/Grey CCS pads, use M205 to clean paint (after wash/clay)
Buy Duragloss #111 CCP, for sealant (its not a polish, but a finishing sealant correct?) Apply using White or Grey?
Use up remaining Collinite 845 OR buy Carnuba Max Wax on sale now? as topper over #111?

Would that give me 6 months protection ? In Nov/Dec/Jan/Feb most of March (unless warm spell) I won't get weather/garage access to wax again. Thoughts? Recommendations?

marky3320
07-24-2012, 02:17 PM
For washing during the winter season, are you going the waterless wash route, or standard wash?

BobbyG
07-24-2012, 02:18 PM
Will wash every week or two, with ONR, and Meguiars Ultimate Quik Wax touch ups afterwards. Waste of time with spray wax as touch up/extender?