PDA

View Full Version : After claying not glass smooth?

SteveZR12010
07-24-2012, 09:19 AM
Help, Newbie Here,

My Wife purchased me a 2010 ZR1 Vette this past may. It looks really good but you can feel the stuff yall talk about on the intire surface with the baggy test. I got all the Wolfgang concours series stuff from AutoGeek after watching Mike's videos.
Swirl remover (it has very light swirls), deep gloss paint sealant, paint work polish enhancer, finishing glaze, Fuzion wax, 5 1/2 inch smart pads by lake country orange, white, black, green, blue, red and the 4 inch pads same colors. Porter cable 7424, elastic poly clay and lubricant. Here's the question, I had some Mcguires clay that I purchased before the Wolfgang stuff, so I am using the Mcguires clay and the Wolfgang's lubricant.

I have started on half the carbon fiber roof. I have clayed it about five times with different pressures and still feel residue with the baggy test. It is much cleaner compared to the unclayed sections. I saw in one of Mike's posts that sometimes this might happen, but he did not elaborate except to move on to machine??? The clay does not appear to be getting dirty. You can definitely still feel residue with the baggy test ( though not as bad) on the section that has been clayed. I am not feeling resistance when I clay...only when the lubricant starts to go away do I feel it and then it starts sticking (not sure how much lube to use). What am I doing wrong? Should I continue to clay (change to the Wolfgang clay?) or do I move to the porter cable and the swirl remover? I DO NOT WANT TO MESS IT UP. I tried several searches to no avail on this exact subject.
Any Help would be greatly appreciated.

On a side note...I also got Wolfgang tire gel (have not used yet) that is not suppose to sling off. In my experiance I have not found anything that will not sling off. Did I waste my money on this?

Thank You

Steve

UltimateDetail
07-24-2012, 09:29 AM