PDA

View Full Version : Need help engine detailing qq?

Bagua
07-08-2012, 02:34 PM
RsGreetings all,

I'm new to the forums and am finally introducing myself. I'm new to auto detailing and have been trolling the AGO forums for some time gathering information. So far all the recommendations,reviews and advice have not steered my wrong. Thanks again to everybody.

Now to my question, I am going to tackle detailing my car's engine bay. I've done a quick pass but noticed that the previous owner had the Ziebart protection sprayed onto the car. It looks like a fine dusting of dark particles on the paint in certain areas.

What would be the best method to remove this or should I leave the coating?

I was going to use an apc then follow up with a polish and wax by Collinite products and the usual engine dressing products.

I don't have a pressure washer and this is my garage queen which will never see rain or snow.

Thanks in advance.

rider9195
07-08-2012, 04:01 PM
I'm confused by your post. The title mentions the engine bay, but it talks about some coating on your paint.

For the engine bay, I use a steam cleaner now. But before I had it, I just lightly rinsed it down sprayed some APC, agitated, then rinse and dressed.

For the paint you should wash, dry, clay, polish, wax. That Ziebart protection is probably just a paint sealant. So a good claying and polishing will remove it.

swanicyouth
07-08-2012, 04:33 PM