PDA

View Full Version : Questions after first detail

darkangelism
07-05-2012, 08:11 AM
I did my first detail of my car, took 12 hours, though I spent way to long on the wash and taping off trim steps. I have some questions after. How do I know when to add my more polish/wax to the pad, I was kind of just guessing and doing it every few sections. The paint was not in bad shape so it was hard to tell what was actually getting polished or wax on it after the first few section passes. Also Is there a trick to controlling the DA at weird angles? the lower parts of my door panels it was almost driving me some of the time.

vet
07-05-2012, 08:21 AM
The short answer is practice. How much/when to put more on the pad will vary, depending on the size of the vehicle, condition of the finish, etc. I'm no pro, so follow the advice from the others who chime in, they are more experienced than me.

darkangelism
07-05-2012, 09:21 AM
Thanks, yeah I thought that would be the answer, I have 3 or 4 more vehicles that I can do for practice, which don't have as difficult body lines(older boxier cars.) Then I will only be able to practice waxing every few months, i shouldnt need polish for awhile.

DaveT435
07-05-2012, 09:36 AM
I'm not a pro either...but with the wax your just trying to get an even coat on the car. I don't think you should have more than 1 pass over and area except where you are overlapping...

07gtcs
07-05-2012, 09:42 AM
I saw on here one gents suggestion was to use the KISS method. He would "KISS" the glass with the pad, and if it left a mark on the glass, the pad had enough product. If it didn't leave much of a mark, he added more product. Again......practice....practice....practice. Sorry I can't remember who posted that theory to give them credit.

darkangelism
07-05-2012, 09:52 AM
I'm not a pro either...but with the wax your just trying to get an even coat on the car. I don't think you should have more than 1 pass over and area except where you are overlapping...