PDA

View Full Version : White Car, Rotary Buffer

eyedrop
06-27-2012, 05:40 PM
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I drive a 2008 Ford Focus coupe in Oxford white. It is a plain white, not pearl or metallic. Anyways, the car sits outside 100% of the time but Ive always detailed it by hand regularly and its looking pretty good and in overall good condition. The paint is slippery and always protected. This list of products I already have and use are Turtle Wax Zip car wash, Meguiars #7 Glaze (my favorite!), Meguiars clay bar kit, Mothers Back to Black, Zaino Z2, Turtle Wax synthetic spray detailer, No Touch tire care, Invisible Glass, ScratchX2.0, Nu Finish Scratch Doctor, microfiber wash sponge, microfiber towels, applicator pads, and 0000 steel wool.

I just got ahold of a rotary buffer from Harbor Freight (not the orbital type or DA but actual rotary). I have never used one before or any polisher. but I have some practice cars Ill be working on before I even touch my car with a tool like this. I have the backing plate but I need some pads. Im confused as to how many pads of which type I need, and exactly how strong of a compound should I use? My main paint defects are:

*Hard water spots and etches that scratchx2.0 would not remove by hand.

*Grungy contaminated paint, especially by the wheel wells. Seems like its deep down in the pores or beneath the clear coat. Do I need a paint cleaner or will a buffer and compound or polish take care of this?

* Spider web swirls and medium scratches

* Paint chips

* Water spots on glass, not even Invisible Glass, CLR, or #0000 steel wool would remove. They look deep down and type 2. Makes me wonder about the water spots in the paint...

My car already looks better than 95% of cars on the road. The finish has a very high gloss thanks to the Meguiars Show Car Glaze #7 (which also fills the water spot defects temporarily). The surface is smooth and slippery thanks to the clay bar and ICE quick detailer.