PDA

View Full Version : cleaning up an old cadillac

durant113
06-21-2012, 10:27 AM
I recently bought a cadillac brougham d'elegance from a family member for $50. The car is in great shape no rust and has been kept in a machine shed covered up for the last 20 years. The paint, I assume is a single stage maroon color. It does not seem to shine like it probably did when new. I want to try and bring it back but, having never worked on a single stage I don't know the best approach. On my last order I got some Meg's #7 after reading an article where Mr. Phillips used it on an older yellow Lincoln. Should I clay first, then the #7, polish, wax. I read where you leave the #7 on for a bit to let is "soak" the paint before doing any correction. Any advice would be welcome since I have limited experience.

Bill1234
06-21-2012, 12:44 PM
You will definately know if it is single stage if you wipe the car and there is color coming off. If you want to restore gloss, use meguiars ultimate compound on a finishing disc. I reccommed using that or Ibiz waterless wax which is more of a spray wax, but has restoration properties. Hopefully you can make it look like it was used in Goodfellas lol.

Blackthorn One
06-21-2012, 01:56 PM
You should definitely use #7 if it is single stage paint. The first coat overnight and then 3 or 4 more coats I think he said. Wash, clay, #7, polish, maybe glaze, then wax.

BillyJack
06-21-2012, 01:57 PM
Should I clay first, then the #7, polish, wax. I read where you leave the #7 on for a bit to let is "soak" the paint before doing any correction. Any advice would be welcome since I have limited experience.