PDA

View Full Version : Detailing for a non detailed person and some newbie questions

Pages : [1] 2

darkangelism
06-20-2012, 08:16 AM
I am new to the car detailing world, the way that I used to wash cars would probably make you cringe, hand washed with sponges and dawn, would put sponges on the ground, wouldnt dry the car after. Then I started using automatic car washes when I started living in an apartment.

My current car is 18 months old and has only been washed 3 times, twice by automatic car wash and never polished or waxed. So I finally realized I was doing something wrong and started learning about how to detail.

My problem is that I am not a detail oriented person and I worry that I won't end up doing it correctly still. Are there any tips or tricks to break up the job into smaller sections so that I don't miss anything?

I am planning on doing a multistep detail the first time.

Foam->rinse->clean tires->2 bucket wash->rinse->clay->rinse->polish->wax

Also should I hand polish or go straight to a DA orbital?

glen e
06-20-2012, 08:32 AM
You really need a buffer. To do it right. You can certainly do it by hand, but your results will be about 60 to 70% what you could get with a buffer. It certainly is worth it. Just stop eating out for a month and buy a buffer. The griots garage 6 is the one to have, green pad...from lake county here.

I detail, but I believe in the detailing quickly. I don't want to waste time spending all weekend doing something, so for all my daily drivers and new cars that are in good shape, this is very, very easy for me ...see below

Daily driver detail
1. Clay with ONR lube
2. Blackfire Total Polish and Seal on an orbital with green CCS pad- this leaves almost no haze
3. Remove with BF poly spray or just buff off by hand
4. Blackfire crystal seal or BF Wet Diamond! Crystal seal fastest, no buff at all
5. Blackfire spray wax or poly spray after weekly washes

Done , BF spreads so easily it's a treat to work with.

darkangelism