PDA

View Full Version : CR Spotless Question

Pages : [1] 2

bigaizsosexy
06-08-2012, 10:38 AM
Hi All,

I am new to using the CR Spotless, but for the past month or two I've loved every minute of it!!! The questions I have are pretty straight forward.

- After each use, do you have to drain the water from the canisters, or is it ok to leave it in there for a sometime?? Will it eat up the resin if the water sits in there, or it has to pass through the resin to start depleting it?

-Where is the best place (cost effective) to purchase DI resin in bulk??

I look forward to the answers!

Thanks,
Andy

Darren
06-08-2012, 04:09 PM
I do not drain the water. Best price on resin is Costco.com

Ohio Detailing
06-08-2012, 05:12 PM
I've never heard a lot of talk about the CR spotless system... can you really tell a big enough difference to merit spending the money? What do you like most about it, and if you let the water dry on the car in the sun, some spots still have to be made, right? Thanks

Setec Astronomy
06-08-2012, 07:33 PM
if you let the water dry on the car in the sun, some spots still have to be made, right? Thanks

No, that's not right. As long as your resin is still good, and you keep the flow rate within the capability of the device (use the included restrictor), it will completely deionize the water and the water will dry spot free, in theory. Where theory meets reality is that when you rinse your car, you will wash dirt and soap out of crevices, and they likely will leave residue on your car. So you have to rinse very carefully/ thoroughly to really get the "spot-free drying" effect. However, you won't have to worry about any etched water spots.

Ultimately, for me, after using the CR for a couple of years, I decided it was a better option to get my soft water from inside plumbed to my outside faucet.

Setec Astronomy
06-08-2012, 07:36 PM