PDA

View Full Version : Black paint

Pages : [1] 2

brian45acp
06-04-2012, 08:33 AM
So is it to be expected that no matter what you do there will be some fine scratches in the clear?

Seriously I have bought everything to wash properly and all the best towels etc. I think 1 time I tried to remove some light surface dust with a QD and it may have been that time I got most of the fine lines from.

Honestly I am new to this but am beginning to think its impossible to not get those fine lines. My truck looks amazing compared to any other black I see but if I look real close under a LED light I see new lines. When it comes time to polish again I am sure the AIO will remove most of them but between now and then I guess the game is to prevent more scratches and just live with the ones that are there.

Mike Phillips
06-04-2012, 08:41 AM
The clear layer of paint, with a solid color under it makes it easy for our eyes to see defects on the surface easy.

Clear coat paints are scratch-sensitive, that means that even though they are harder than single stage paints they still scratch very easily.

Black isn't a color, it's a full time job"

I owned a black SUV one time and I would never do that again. I would own a "cool" car in black, but not a daily driver and certainly not an SUV

http://archive.meguiarsonline.com/gallery/data/500/2Pilot_New.jpg

No coating I've tested resisted scratching either so pick your poison, wax, paint sealant or coating. Finding a good spray wax and then using it often should get you and keep you at the 98% to 99% flawless category.

:xyxthumbs:

SR99
06-04-2012, 09:02 AM
I think it's probably true that just driving your vehicle and/or parking it outside subjects it to "sand blasting" over time, just from particles suspended in the air, and particles spit up by following other vehicles.