PDA

View Full Version : Nissan Murano opinions please

Danube
05-20-2012, 08:20 PM
Wife is keen to get this 4x4 however I have no experience with Nissan or four wheel drives at all.

Opinions are much appreciated especially from you guys who already have this vehicle.
Prons, cons, etc please.

:xyxthumbs:

RoPaJa
05-20-2012, 09:13 PM
We bought the 2012 S model. Love the SUV. If you are looking at the Rogue or the cabriolet version of the Murano- DON"T waste of the money. We didn't get the AWD version because of the cost, but the front wheel drive worked fine to pull itself up a steep hill with ice patches this winter.

The transmission is a little different in that it does not shift like normal. I personally like it, but others who have driven the car said it felt weird. Guess a personal taste type thing.

Considering we have put 8K miles in 5 months (not the primary car either), it has been better than expected.

Cons: Horrible turning radius. Makes it tricky to back into or parallel park.

As for Nissans, I have owned a couple that I drove to more than 100K miles each so I can't complain about the manufacture.

We were looking to purchase a Lexus RX450, but decided for half the money that the Murano more than fit the bill. Next year after paying this one off, we will likely purchase another Murano with all the bells and whistles which is the only regret we have about the S model.

Hope this helps,
Ro

JJH2329
05-20-2012, 09:23 PM
I owned a murano. The transmission takes some getting used to. I had the all wheel drive version and it worked well in snow. The vehicle drove nice, was decent in gas and was spacious. If you plan to encounter snow the all wheel driven works well and would recommend getting that option. I did not like the transmission, but this is more a preference thing. I felt like it never accelerated correctly. Any other specific questions let me know.

Danube
05-20-2012, 09:39 PM