PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...mild holograms from finishing glaze 3.0?

Vossman
05-16-2012, 12:42 AM
Hi, first post here. I'm a novice and need some help!

I have a griots DA and have used it four times since I got it six months ago. I have used Griots one-step with orange CCS 5.5 pads, poorboys SSR1 with white CCS 5.5 pads and now Wolfgang finishing glaze 3.0 with a gray 5.5 CCS pad. I followed each polishing step with either pinnacle liquid souvrain or meguiars NXT paste on lowest speed with a red 6.5 CCS pad. My two vehicles are a 2010 Tacoma and a 2006 corolla. The Tacoma paint is in good shape with only light swirls. The Corolla suffered years of drive thru car washes before I educated myself (with help of forums like these) and wash at home by hand now.

Each time I have polished I would say I am as much learning technique, pads, product as I am successful in producing desired results.

I never felt I had damaged my paint until I used the Wolfgang finishing glaze and gray pad this past weekend on the Tacoma. I had used SSR1 six months ago in an attempt to remove the light swirls but found the product very mild and seemed to only add some depth and gloss and only the faintest swirls were removed. I chose the Wolfgang as it appears it has a bit more correction ability and is highly rated and I wanted to remove the light swirls from the Tacoma.

I polished with the WFG3.0 and gray pad after a thorough hand wash (as I had done with all other times before polishing) I did not clay as this had been done six months ago (and it seemed almost nothing came off in the clay at that time) and I had used pinnacle paintwork cleanser two months ago before my last waxing.