PDA

View Full Version : Pad vs. Product

Pages : [1] 2

txdox21
04-26-2012, 04:32 PM
Which has more effect on the cut/abrasion of the clear coat, the product or the pad?

I have a 2010 Chevy Silverado, and I am new to machine polishing an recently bought a PC. The truck has light swirls, at least I think they are light, but after the results below I am not too sure anymore.

I did a test spot with Megs. Ultimate Polish on a white LC pad and did not get quite the results that I was looking for. I then tried and used the Ult. Polish with an orange pad and got better results, but not perfect. I would guess that the next step would be to use Ultimate Compound with a white pad.

Do you think the orange pad has too much cut for the Ult. Polish? What can happen if you use too much pad for the a product?

bl3ujay07
04-26-2012, 04:39 PM
Are you using lake country pads? If so, you have the pad and product mixed up. Compound with orange, ultimate polish with white.

txdox21
04-26-2012, 05:10 PM
Are you using lake country pads? If so, you have the pad and product mixed up. Compound with orange, ultimate polish with white.

Yes I was using Lake Country pads. I know typically orange is for compound, but I figured the orange would give the Ult. Polish a little more "bite", and figure a white pad with Ult. Compound would not have as much abrasion.

shoeless89
04-26-2012, 11:25 PM
I don't know which is "more important". I think its all about the combination. If pads were more important I figure we would have a lot of different pads and only one kind of polish. Of if polisher were more important we would only have one pad and a lot of different kind of polishes. Its about how we can vary the cut of the polish or pad by changing each.

sircharlespiko
01-21-2015, 01:40 AM