PDA

View Full Version : Polishing

Pages : [1] 2

ejflanag
03-15-2007, 11:29 PM
Hello i am very new to detailing and useing the PC. I am using pinacle polishes and wanted to know how many times can a vehicle be polished without damaging the paint. I am also haveing troubles getting the polish to work my car still has the same scratches, swirl marks etc and sugestions.

StephenK
03-15-2007, 11:43 PM
watch this video

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/auto-detailing-university/4231-pinnacle-how-video.html

this should help you out.
any pics of the swirls and scratches? what pad/polish combo are you using?

orngez
03-16-2007, 12:22 AM
if the swirls are still there after polishing you are not using the correct pad or procedure...check out the videos on AG website should be very helpful...one of them is of the pinnacle line...

Mike T
03-16-2007, 08:06 AM
You may have to work the polish a little more or move up to a more aggressive pad and/or polish.
Abrasive polishing should only be done every six months to a year.

ejflanag
03-16-2007, 08:32 AM
I am using the LC orange pad for the first step then move to the LC white pad for the second step i dont no if its just that i am not aplying enough pressure or not going over enough times but i went over about 6 times in different direction horizontal and vertical.

bambo2888
03-16-2007, 08:35 AM
you should spend roughly 6-7 minutes on each 2x2 foot area.

Nica
03-16-2007, 08:37 AM
I'd encourage you to check out the videos but one thing I learned and I’ll share with you is that you actually don't need that much pressure. I made the mistake of applying way to much pressure and it caused me to ruin by blue Edge 2K pad (really like that blue pad).

The LC orange pad should do the job. Another thing I can suggest is make sure you tackle a small section, if I'm not mistaken it should be a 2 x 2 area and no bigger. I too made this mistake of taking a big area.

I've used XMT, which Pinnacle product are you using? Twins?

ejflanag