PDA

View Full Version : noob - hello

dreyn1957
03-14-2007, 03:34 PM
Hi everybody,
I'm a noob and a DIY'er who's just trying to learn what to do and what not to do. I've done only hand and OP detailing on my own car(s), but I think I've done OK with that (I regulary get compliments on my cars' shine), using Mothers, Meguiars, etc. Done the clay bar, polish, glaze, wax routine... Now I'm going to attempt to graduate to a circular (got the cheap deal from Harbor Freight) and I'm overwhelmed by all of the products available for my needs ( removal of light scratches and swirls, polishing, etc) so I'll try to read through the available info in this forum for awhile and learn what I can but I'll eventually have some typical noob questions. I'll be detailing this car...(closeups to come)
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2005-5/1017453/USNUS-Picture058.jpg

bambo2888
03-14-2007, 03:39 PM
at least you have a pretty good conditioned canvas to begin your work, granted I dont have any closeups to accurately judge.

i highly suggest getting yourself a decent dual action buffer, like the porter cable 7424. once you mix and match polishes with pads, your paint will be almost flawless.

i was just like you 6 months ago, doing everything by hand and using every single over the counter product available. once i came to this board, i was truly welcomed and enlightened to how much i have been missing out on. the buffer and a good set of supplies will not only make your life way easier, but also more productive.

good luck and don't hesistate to do a search or ask any questions you may have.

welcome!

ltoman
03-14-2007, 04:05 PM
Hi and welcome!!

Nuke33
03-14-2007, 04:16 PM