PDA

View Full Version : New extractor really worth it?

Moses
03-26-2012, 11:41 PM
I have a dilemma on whether to buy an extractor or not. I tried going the shop vac route to save money and bought a 6HP RIGID vac from my local HD store. I had a hard time taking stains off my car's upholstery and carpets. I used folex and agitated and looked like the stains would come off but after extraction some stains remained. it was a pain in the arse too.

I am a cheap guy so i try to buy used when i can. So I have been searching on craigs like a maniac but with no luck. So is a New extractor really worth the money? the cheapest one i found is a Mytee lite 2 8070 for $690 OTD. if i had money to burn i would just go for it but i am 80% short lol and was thinking of digging into my savings if the purchase worth it.

I am just starting out and doing this as a hobby for now. My brother in law wants me to detail his Honda Odyssey and civic, and wants the interior shampoo. but his cars are worst than mine " he has 5 little girls". I would also benefit from it to clean my owns cars that are dirty at the moment. What would you guys do in my situation

AKmikeSSter04
03-27-2012, 12:20 AM
I like to try and save too. I've been using folex or diluted megs apc and just scrubbing with a brush. I then use my Stanley wet dry vac to extract and its been working well for me. I saw that there are brush attachments for Porter cables, that might help with scrubbing stubborn stains.

Vegas Transplant
03-27-2012, 12:21 AM
Suggestion:You never know what you'll find (http://youtu.be/vp0UAMMKSsE)

Just kidding hand...but seriously.
Happy detailing...:buffing:

darkstar752
03-27-2012, 12:34 AM