PDA

View Full Version : Optimum Compound not cutting...

noooorb
03-12-2007, 06:07 PM
Hey guys I just got around to detailing my dad's 2005 Altima (will post pics later). It wasn't too cared for until now (before I became an autopian), but it definitely wasn't very neglected either. It was at a machine car wash maybe twice.
I get around to it and after claying, I notice light swirls in the paint. I didn't think I had would have any problem with it. I tried OP on a lc white pad (PC on 6) with no luck - ok so I go to OC on a orange pad, and the swirls are still there. At this point I was a little suprised, and moved to OC on a yellow pad. I worked that in well (I know Optimum products take a while to work in) but still, the swirls were there. Arggg.
From browsing these forums in the past, I know that others have gotten worse swirls out with less aggressive products, so I am wondering what went wrong?
I've had great results with OP before, and this is my first time trying to use OC (the new formula). I finished the detail and the car looks good, but I am not happy knowing the swirls are still there.

PS. The swirls really showed only under direct sunlight, and not really under halogen light.

BILL
03-12-2007, 06:10 PM
Did you breakdown the polish enough.........

noooorb
03-12-2007, 06:17 PM
I truly believe I did. Again, I know Optimum products take a while to break down and I took my time.

CalgaryDetail
03-12-2007, 06:24 PM
I have a ocuple quetions then i can help more..

1. what speed did you use on the pc?
2. what was the weather like, i have found when its cold it dosent work as well
3. what was the time fraim of each pannel, you siad you went slow but how slow.

Im sure with more info i can be more of a help

ohh yeah and may seem like a stupid question but i have seen it more then a few times. Did you shake the bottle? ... please dont get offended I have seen this probley half a dozen times

Nuke33
03-12-2007, 06:39 PM