PDA

View Full Version : Problem with water spots...

shadowrlc
03-09-2007, 07:32 PM
I'm having problems removing what appears to be small water spots on the hood of my 2004 2500HD. I wash and dry weekly so I assume its from rain water since the truck isn't garaged. I am new with the PC and I'm just wondering what I can do to remove these spots. This is a picture after one pass with Meg #83. Sorry for the bad picture but it was the best angle to see how bad the spots are.

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n188/shadowrlc/small.jpg

sparkie
03-09-2007, 10:06 PM
Megs #83 is very good polish (hate the dust). I have seen it get out some bad paint damage. Sometimes the damage is too deep. You might try a stronger polish. What pads are you using?
I saw a video of a detailer using wet sand paper 2000 and 3000 grit and then polishing it out. Maybe someone will chime in and help you out.

ScottB
03-10-2007, 09:30 AM
could also be acid rain etchings, and is likely already well into the clearcoat. You can try polishing, wet-sanding, but likely will have to live with them or repair thru repaint.

shadowrlc
03-10-2007, 12:21 PM
I used an orange pad. I may try another pass with #83 and see if it helps any. Guess it's just one of those things I'll have to deal with. Thanks for the info!

ltoman
03-10-2007, 12:25 PM
It seems like it it is inevitable for a car that does not have the luxury of being babied by a garage. But you have nothing to lose by working on it with the pc!

koibybrian
03-10-2007, 05:02 PM
How do you like your HD? Wel for me wife picked up a 06 G6. Great car. She parrked underneath pine tree and you can guess what happened. Removed all the sap and took care of the paint.For me looking at your Truck , (I have a Serria) I think it can be handled. Maybe some swirl remover. Some sealent and wax if you prefer.

shadowrlc
03-10-2007, 05:21 PM