PDA

View Full Version : Do I need to use paint cleanser after polishing?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

timemaker
03-04-2012, 04:40 AM
Hi guys, a noob here.
I am kinda confused. My work plan:
1. Wash
2. Clay
3. Megs UC - M205
4. P21S paintwork cleanser
5. Sealant.
Is step no 4 necessary? I thought it was done to clean the remaining or leftover polish and also add some gloss (p21s has some fillers I suppose). But after reading some suggestions here, some said that it would be unnecessary since the compound and the polish would have already removed remaining wax. Any suggestions guys?

embolism
03-04-2012, 07:37 AM
the answer is yes and no

after wiping off the 205, the paint will have polishing oils remaining on it, which can hide any remaining swirls and affect the durability of your sealant. You can wash the car at this point or use a product to wipe off the oils (griots pre wax cleanser comes to mind). It's a spray so much easier to apply and remove (after all that polishing, you'll want easier, trust me).

The paintwork cleanser will also do it but is a bit of overkill imo. I'd save that for prepping the paint for a new wax/sealant when you aren't polishing.

All that said, I've put on my lsp (collinite 845) without wiping polishing oils off a car before.

The wipedown to get squeaky clean paint is mainly for sealants and to ensure maximum durability from the product.

Bunky
03-04-2012, 07:44 AM
If you have used UC / M205, you do not need to use the P21s paint cleaner.

BobbyG
03-04-2012, 07:53 AM
As the other guys stated not really.

Whether I need to or not I always wash the surface after polishing. My feeling is the residue left behind from the polishing stage can't help the next product, especially a sealant. I like to be sure the surface is clean so a quick wash and dry or a wipe down with something like Klean Strip Prep-All makes me feel a whole lot better. :props:

timemaker
03-04-2012, 11:23 PM