PDA

View Full Version : Not just a business, but making a living!

Pages : [1] 2 3

crash93ssei
02-28-2012, 07:37 PM
Currently I work full time and make ok money for the area ~$55,000 / year. However, to make that money I am working in a shop as a machine operator and in the summer it gets about 110 degrees in there and is overall miserable even on the super easy days.

I have been detailing as a hobby now for four years and have had excellent results and all customers have been extremely satisfied.

Trouble is, I have about 35 years left to work before I can retire and I am maxed out for pay in this shop. Other then moving to supervision or managent there is no more room for advancement for me and I do not like the idea of making the same money for the next 35 years!

So, I have been toying with the idea more and more recently about turning my hobby not only into a part time business but eventually breaking all ties and making a living off my detailing only. This seems like a fantastic idea, but the winter months really scare me as I fear business would be completely dead and I wouldn't make any money during those months then spend all summer trying to play catch up.

How many of you out there are in a more northern climate with snow for a few months and actually make a living out if detailing? I know there is auto lavish and deep gloss auto salon a few hours south of me, but just looking for more experience and info on making that complete transition.

I dream of making cars beautiful for my full time job, working outside or in my own air conditioned shop and being my own boss.... not working in a shop sweating my butt off all summer working under a dozen other people up the line all the way to corporate.

Hoytman
02-28-2012, 07:54 PM
Nothing wrong with dreaming a bit, but in this economy I'd keep my day job. Why? Because I'm afraid we ain't seen nothin' yet. Just wait 'till these gas prices climb up over $4 in the midwest and see what happens.