PDA

View Full Version : Charge for a good friend?

Pages : [1] 2

basko93
02-28-2012, 08:13 AM
I have a buddy that saw my show car after two days of detailing and wants me to do a paint correction,polish,sealant, wax on his show car. Problem I do not do this for a living and not sure what to charge him.His car has very good paint but has swirls and some spots that may need a little wet sand to the clear, base coat clear coat ppg. The car is a 1969 chevelle with vinyl top. What do you think. P.S. just paint work.

Porsche Pilot
02-28-2012, 08:21 AM
Well, if he is a close friend, why not do the car together? Teach him the processes and make a day of it. Both of you may get more out of that than a monetary transaction. He buys the beer though.

basko93
02-28-2012, 08:29 AM
He wants me to do it so I can earn some extra money, he does not want to be bothered with it and would rather be installing a new ls motor in his other car.

BWG707
02-28-2012, 08:44 AM
I don't know if this helps much but yrs. ago I used to paint houses. All my friends at one time or another would want me to paint their houses. Since they were good friends and would help me out if I ever needed it I would give all of them a straight 50% discount on labor. They had to paid for paint and materials but at my contractors' discounted price.

shoeless89
02-28-2012, 09:23 AM
With a lot of my friends I tell them if they help me do their car I'll do it for free

LuxuryMobile
02-28-2012, 09:38 AM
If I am doing a car for a friend I try to talk them into helping me/learning.

If they are not interested in helping or learning the process, and continue to try and pay me then I charge them. I always try to give a good friend a discounted rate.

Stang Man
02-28-2012, 09:38 AM
Since he doesn't really want to mess with it, see if there is something he has of value, or some skill, that he could possibly trade for your services?

If not, giving him a flat % "discount" might not be a bad idea.