PDA

View Full Version : Advice for someone who hasn't done this yet.

CASH XRS
02-27-2012, 02:22 PM
Hey guys, I have been reading a lot about DA polishers and reading Mike's articles comparing them by hand. From what I have seen, the Porter 7424XP is the best way to go for newbs AKA me haha. I have never used a power polisher before, but I plan to really start detailing on the side and I know this would help.

For the record, I will mainly start off by doing my car and my fiancee's car and move from there to family members and a few friends. It'll offer me practice without worry of really screwing up paint, which I hear isn't too big a worry with this polisher thru trial and error along with proper technique anyways.

Ok, so, your advice is needed here. I am still contemplating buying one or not because I BELIEVE I will get good use out of it, even if it's just for my car but I plan on branching out to others soon.

My plan was to stick to simple for now. So I was going to go with this packages as suggested in another thread and combined with Mike's post:
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/hot-topics-frequently-asked-questions/20573-1-step-vs-3-step-process-hand.html

I was going to buy (or consider):
-Porter Cable 7424XP
-Lake Country 5" Backing plate
- 6 pack of Lake Country 5 1/2" Flat pads. Maybe 2 six packs. I was leaning towards this as the color choices:
- 1 Yellow
- 3 Orange
- 3 White
- 1 Black
-Meguiar's Ultimate Compound
-Meguiar's SwirlX
-Some choice of Wax, perhaps the NXT Tech wax used in the article?

Remember, I am trying to go for ease of use here and simplicity to start off. Any and all suggestions are welcome. I alsop know Mike said to try and stick to all the same product for a synergy which is why I wouldn't mind getting the Tech Wax. Let me know what you guys think of this package and how to adjust/fix anything I should consider instead.

Few quick questions:
-More or less padsof color choices?