PDA

View Full Version : How do I use an AIO?

davidc11291
02-13-2012, 03:32 AM
Being a newbie, I've gotten half way competent with the multi step 105/205 combo. I've been playing around with some D151 (Meg's AIO). Here's my questions-

1) Do I prime the pad just like I prime the 105 and the 205?

2) How do I tell when I've reached the end of the product's working cycle? With 105, it's easy to tell when it starts getting dry and there's no slightly wet trail left, but with D151 having a sealant in it, how do I tell when it's done? How do I know when to stop and avoid dry buffing?

3) Any other general advice about how to use an AIO?

tw33k2514
02-13-2012, 04:25 AM
1) yes

2) the great thing about D151 is how versatile it is. It can be used with virtually any pad/pressure/pass combo to achieve what you are after. Now obviously if you are going the more aggressive route the protection left by D151 will be reduced. That said, D151 can be worked pretty much as long as you need it to be. It isn't going to dry out like a stand alone polish.

I suggest you try 6 passes with medium pressure on an LC orange pad and inspect. Then you can dial it in as you please.

Mike Phillips
02-13-2012, 08:49 AM
Ben's answers pretty much answered your questions but I'll add something to your last question...

3) Any other general advice about how to use an AIO?a

AIO or cleaner/waxes can be used as a maintenance product, that is they can be used to maintain a finish already in excellent condition to keep it in excellent condition and when used for this purpose you don't need to use the product heavy or wet, do use the "ample" amount, that don't under use the product to point of not having an ample amount on the surface as you buff.