PDA

View Full Version : I need some advice from the pros

AntC
02-12-2012, 11:42 PM
Hello
I'm new to the machine polishing world and I really need some advice, I have a 2000 Tahoe that's my daily driver with what I would call moderate to severe swirls. I'm looking to do my first correction this spring. I've been on the site for a couple months and trying to soak up as much info as I can, but I'm just not sure about what I should purchase ,so here are my questions.

1. Which DA polisher for a first timer to use ( I know I'm not ready for a rotary) so PC , GG or Flex. I've read that the PC is a good starter but it may not be able to remove severe swirls, I know the flex will do it but is it too much to handle for a novice so maybe down the middle with the GG

2. which compound to use ,as I said I believe my finish would fit into moderate to severe
(I've attached a photo of a paint job very close to how mines looks, not my actual truck, I borrowed it from another post on the forum but he was using a rotary) I'm leaning toward the XMT line.

3. Finally which wax or sealer for the finish like the results I've seen from the pinnacle wax line, but I want whats best for the finish.

I would like to start buying now so I will be ready to go when warm weather hits but before I do I want to make sure I have the stuff to do the job right.

Any and all advice would be appreciated

Monster Shine
02-12-2012, 11:46 PM
Well I assume that isn't a picture of your Tahoe but one meant to show about your Tahoe's condition?

AntC
02-12-2012, 11:51 PM
Yes it's from Flannigan (http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/members/flannigan.html)'s " full correction" but it's nearly identical to my finish ( it's winter here in Michigan so I don't have any current pics

tw33k2514
02-12-2012, 11:52 PM
I would highly recommend the Griots polisher. Great power, good price, and a lifetime warranty.