PDA

View Full Version : Product advice for a newbie

Kevin509
02-08-2012, 11:39 PM
I'm sure these questions are somewhat irritating to you seasoned car-beautifiers, but I'm very new at all this. I'm taking delivery tomorrow of a new-to-me 2006 Mustang GT in satin silver that has just received your typical used-car-lot detail job.

I'm looking to acquire a good 'starter kit' of products to maintain, enhance and protect the paint of this car. Long story short: my budget is around $100, I don't yet have a DA polisher so everything goes on by hand, and I'm trying to decide between the Zaino "Total protection show car kit" which includes Z-2, Z-5, Z-6, Z-7 and Z-18 for $85 dollars

Or

One of the myriad of car care kits available here on autogeek that are within my price range. There's just so many of them and I don't really know the difference between the brands and products and what not.

Any advice for a car-care newbie?

embolism
02-08-2012, 11:48 PM
what look do you like? sealant or carnauba?

do you enjoy waxing or do you want to do a thorough job twice a year?

pick up some collinite 845 for sure, get a sample of wolfgang deep closs paint sealant, and maybe a mother's clay kit, some blackfire waterless concentrate, some of those german trifoam hand applicators, and some ultimate compound or m105

congrats also on the new ride!

glen e
02-08-2012, 11:54 PM
I don't like the kits becasue there is always stuff I won't use. All you need for a car in good shape is:
1.a wash: meguires gold class at any auto parts store
2.clay and clay lubricant like ONR
3. Wax on/off a coat of Meguire's Ultimate compound

From here I would stay inside a product line as they compliment each other:
Blackfire Total polish and seal (my fav)
Blackfire Crystal Seal
Blackfire Wet Diamond spray

two buckets , wash mitt and some MF towels

another way to go is the ultima line:
3. Ultima paint prep
4. Ultima Paint Guard plus
5. Ultima Spray

all this stuff is great by hand....