PDA

View Full Version : Waxing in the sun

Pages : [1] 2

sshinn1
01-15-2012, 01:40 PM
I'm new to waxing/polishing etc., have always gone thru drive thru car washes but just got my dream truck and want to take better care of the exterior. Everything I've read emphasizes waxing in the garage or shade, but I have no way of getting my truck into my garage and don't have a shady spot to park it in. How crucial is this and can I effectively/safely wax in the sun? It's a new truck so the paint is new, I only plan to clay and wax art this point

BobbyG
01-15-2012, 02:02 PM
First, :welcome: To Autogeek Online and congratulations on the new truck...:props:
Applying products in the sun is generally not a good idea unless the surface temperature is only warm to the touch.

Some products state' "may be used in direct sun". Many products offered from Poorboy's World can be used in direct sun and work very well.

Everyone starts off as a beginner but with some reading, questions, and trial, error, and practice you'll be amazed how much you'll be able to do. After reading and understanding some of the basics, the more hands on your are the quicker you'll build your knowledge and gain experience.

This link contains articles written by Mike Phillips and has allot of great reading within.

Articles by Mike Phillips (http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/ask-expert-featuring-mike-phillips/23722-articles-mike-phillips.html)

Basic steps in order are:

Wash
Clay
Paint Correction & Polish
Seal
Wax

ArkayoDeetayo
01-15-2012, 02:02 PM
I'm new to waxing/polishing etc., have always gone thru drive thru car washes but just got my dream truck and want to take better care of the exterior. Everything I've read emphasizes waxing in the garage or shade, but I have no way of getting my truck into my garage and don't have a shady spot to park it in. How crucial is this and can I effectively/safely wax in the sun? It's a new truck so the paint is new, I only plan to clay and wax art this point