PDA

View Full Version : Is "detailing" my daily driver Tahoe just too much for me

Pages : [1] 2

SeaNile
01-10-2012, 12:43 PM
Newbie here and first want to say this is an awesome site with fantastic info. I checked out several videos, product reviews, searched the various threads and have learned a lot.

Before really looking into this site and learning about details cars I used to think I was good at keeping my car looking good. Really, I just wash it regularly, clean out the door jambs, towel dry and do a quick once over with FK425. Now my wife's Tahoe needs to be waxed and as much as I want to do it myself, seeing these videos with 13 steps is making me question if I should do this or just send it to a pro shop. Obviously I know a good pro shop will make it look much better than I ever could.

So, I'm up for a good wash, dry, clay bar (would be a first for me) and maybe a "compound" then wax but that's about it. If I really need to do 5-6-7 steps it'll never get done. Not enough time between work, wife and kids.

Any advice for a newbie? I'm OK with buying a decent DA and a few supplies but do not want to go crazy with this....

Thanks!!

Vegas Transplant
01-10-2012, 12:51 PM
How about a claying followed by a aio? Welcome to the forum. Happy trails...

flyinion
01-10-2012, 01:02 PM
How about a claying followed by a aio? Welcome to the forum. Happy trails...

This, an aio product would make it pretty easy. Maybe a cleaner-wax of some kind. I definitely feel your pain on the large vehicle. I did my parent's 04 F150 last year for them. It's the full 4 door cab, full size bed, with painted hard cover over the bed. That was a 12 hour job rushing it with just wash, clay, polish, seal. Of course, it was also in really bad shape which didn't help.

KneeDragr
01-10-2012, 01:04 PM