PDA

View Full Version : Using swirl finder on silver paint

Pages : [1] 2

2L8IWON
01-01-2012, 09:56 PM
Hello all, I'm a newb and my name is Jesse. For Christmas I got the Swril finder and the Wolfgang twins. As I prepare to detail my baby I am having a issue.

I am detailing my silver mustang and am having one hell of a time finding swirls in my silver paint using the Brinkman swirl finder.

On the black portions of my car I have no issues seeing the flaws. Is there a special technique I'm not employing? Also I can see swirl with the regular light.

Thanks in advance

Jesse

mamut
01-01-2012, 10:13 PM
you have to look at it at the right angle...had a hard time finding the swirls on my dark metallic silver mini

Porsche Pilot
01-01-2012, 10:47 PM
My best practice on silver and white is to darken my garage and then use the Brinkmann as the only light source. As stated above, use different angles and you will spot the swirls more easily.

alko
01-01-2012, 10:55 PM
My best practice on silver and white is to darken my garage and then use the Brinkmann as the only light source. As stated above, use different angles and you will spot the swirls more easily.

:iagree: I haven't tried this yet, but alot of people turn off the garage lights and only use their work light as their light source. When using the swirl finder look at the actual bulb reflection and not the light hitting the spotlight on the paint. I usually hold the light to the left or right of my head to see the imperfections.

I hope that made sense.

dougaross
01-01-2012, 11:18 PM
:iagree: I haven't tried this yet, but alot of people turn off the garage lights and only use their work light as their light source. When using the swirl finder look at the actual bulb reflection and not the light hitting the spotlight on the paint. I usually hold the light to the left or right of my head to see the imperfections.

I hope that made sense.