PDA

View Full Version : I think I'm creating swirl marks...

Pages : [1] 2

snoby
01-01-2012, 03:00 PM
Hi All,
I'm a newbie with the DA, I just started testing out my new 7424XP with a Green pad and some Meguiars Ultimate Polish.

I attempted a test area on a 2008 silver BMW 535i. The paint is in really good condition with only very minor water spot etchings. I wanted to just run some polish on it before putting on the Klasse sealant.

After running one section pass I wiped down with a micro fiber cloth and it looks like I put in some minor swirl marks. I did take some before and after pictures, but on a silver car it just doesn't show up.

I stopped after the test area because I'm a bit hesitant of continuing. I'm looking for any feedback. Thanks!

jekyl05
01-01-2012, 03:09 PM
you will want to do more than one pass and if you find that the green pad is leaving marks after additional working time (passes) then i would go to a gray/black finishing pad.

other option would be to just go with the black or gray pad and stop using the green... least aggressive approach first.

snoby
01-01-2012, 07:24 PM
I tried again this time with the blue finishing pad and still got the swirl marks. I guess this polish is way to aggressive for the work I want to do. Although it is strange I wanted to take out some water mark etchings and it didn't take those out.

mwtaco
01-01-2012, 07:49 PM
pardon me if this is way too obvious, but are you starting with clean paint?

jekyl05
01-01-2012, 08:00 PM
I tried again this time with the blue finishing pad and still got the swirl marks. I guess this polish is way to aggressive for the work I want to do. Although it is strange I wanted to take out some water mark etchings and it didn't take those out.

can you breakdown your process of application? ensure you are properly priming the pad. this should help...

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/ask-expert-featuring-mike-phillips/23722-articles-mike-phillips.html?highlight=priming+pad

snoby