PDA

View Full Version : Noobie here...could use some advice

Pages : [1] 2

flawless
02-26-2007, 10:39 AM
Hey guys. I have ben lurking for a bit and just decided to join to talk to you guys about how to get the most out of my paint. I am not new to detailing, but alot has changed since the days of using wool pads and a high speed, so im somewhat new to the PC DA orbital and the newest products out there. I just got my dream car 05 Mercedes CL600 delivered from south dakota to maryland on an unenclosed trailer, needless to say I learned my lesson to always do enlosed. This was the delivery condition:

http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/7937/picture363gk7.jpg

Ironically it was never driven in the rain before I purchased it..under all of that salt is some pristine never buffed paint. After a wash and some Meg Gold Class carnuba paste it got her to this:

http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/1418/picture366wy9.jpg

Came out pretty good. After inspection under some good flourescent lighting it does have a few light surface scratches. I am using my buddies PC DA orbital this weekend and I just ordered some stuff from Autogeek. Tell me what you think: I was going to use XMT#3 on the deeper scratches and the tops, then use with XMT#1 on the whole car followed by XMT Finishing Glaze topped with WG Deep Gloss sealant, after curing top it with Meg Gold class carnuba. Thanks for the help guys!!!

ScottB
02-26-2007, 10:44 AM
nice lineup and design of products. I would garner up the $$$ to replace the Megs with Pinnacle Souveran paste and show the finish what is was meant to be. Be patient with buffing as the mercedes clearcoat is very hard so you will need to work it for a long while.

flawless
02-26-2007, 10:50 AM