PDA

View Full Version : I'm not so sure about CarPro Eraser...

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

WRAPT C5Z06
12-18-2011, 02:50 PM
Sure, it's nice to have a RTU, pre-mixed solution that smells good, BUT, at 30%-50% IPA, that WILL swell your paint. That's just too much IPA. Those of you that use 91% IPA, that's beyond me! :eek: Thoughts?

tw33k2514
12-18-2011, 02:53 PM
I'm no scientist, but wouldn't it take a lot of exposure over a long time to effect the paint in any serious way?

WRAPT C5Z06
12-18-2011, 02:57 PM
I'm no scientist, but wouldn't it take a lot of exposure over a long time to effect the paint in any serious way?
Swelling happens instantaneously. You most likely are swelling the paint when polishing due to friction. It's unavoidable at times. However, I wouldn't want to use any product that would intentionally swell the paint thereafter. The swelling will go down, just like a bump or bruise.

Rsurfer
12-18-2011, 03:18 PM
Are you saying that Eraser has 30-50% alcohol? I would not be concerned with the 30
% ratio, but 50% maybe. I say maybe because I've used 70% and 91% neat for years with no problems.
Sure, it's nice to have a RTU, pre-mixed solution that smells good, BUT, at 30%-50% IPA, that WILL swell your paint. That's just too much IPA. Those of you that use 91% IPA, that's beyond me! :eek: Thoughts?

Dr Oldz
12-18-2011, 03:25 PM
I agree with you, Mark. I don't and won't use it. I think there are safer and much cheaper ways to clean paint.

LegacyGT
12-18-2011, 03:35 PM
I am a happy Eraser user, not going to change anytime soon unless there are some fact based reasons to change with significant proof behind them.

WRAPT C5Z06
12-18-2011, 03:41 PM
Are you saying that Eraser has 30-50% alcohol? I would not be concerned with the 30
% ratio, but 50% maybe. I say maybe because I've used 70% and 91% neat for years with no problems.