PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here..need thoughts on my starter products list please?

lithnights
12-09-2011, 10:55 AM
I'm a newbie here am looking to get back into detailing my 2 family cars, a minivan and an SUV. The minivan is brand new so I want to keep it nice for as long as I can. The SUV is 3 years old but it's still in very nice shape. After finding this site, I'm tossing the Windex, Armorall, blue rags etc. that I used to use, so now I need new products. I put together a list of things to buy and wanted to get some thoughts from you experts. I have spent the last couple days perusing tons of autogeek.net articles and postings and here is what I've come up with. Remember this is just for my 2 family cars (not some of the sweet cars I've seen on this site!!), and it's not a business, so I don't want to go too crazy. :)

So here's my list...

1. Autobahn Max Vac Garage Vacuum (already purchased here on autogeek.net). Got it yesterday..this thing, especially the expandable hose, seems awesome.

2. 2 Blue Cobra Waffle Weave Glass Towel for windows
Invisible Glass aerosol can

3. 3 pack of 530 gray microfiber towels for cleaning inside of cars

4. Detailer's Pro Series Interior Surface Protectant to clean inside. This can be used on vinyl, leather etc. so I figure an all in one would be ideal.

5. 2 way detailing brush

6. A couple microfiber buff pads for vinyl. Are these really needed if I have the grey microfiber towels?

7. Meguiar's X3002 microfiber wash mitt

8. Some type of exterior wash shampoo

9. 2 Green guzzler waffle weave for drying

Again, this is for me to give my cars a good monthly cleaning and keep them fairly nice, not showroom. I won't have time to do a weekly/monthly claying/waxing etc. I have 2 little ones four and under and a newborn on the way, so quite simply I don't have the time I used to. :laughing:

Again feedback would be appreciated. Great site!!

Thanks in advance,

FUNX650
12-09-2011, 04:29 PM