PDA

View Full Version : New to claying

pilfjd
12-05-2011, 09:53 AM
Just looking for some advice and suggestions. As the title says, I'm new to claying and I wanted to do it on my car. I've never done it before in my 1+ years of ownership and I wanted to do it last night. My goal for now is not to get rid of swirls and such but just to get the paint nice and smooth and relatively clean for a decent coat of protective wax/sealant.

Anyway, the clay I used was Pinnacle Ultra Poly Clay because everyone seems to think it's pretty safe and non-abrasive way to clay a car. Well, after 2 hours I'm done. I'm pretty happy with the results, but not the amount of time it took to do the whole car because it seems that it takes about 30-40 minutes for professionals to do a whole car. Is this a typical? Would a more "aggressive" clay speed up this process? Or is it because the car hadn't been clayed in over a year?

The next step later tonight is to use Pinnacle Paintwork Cleanser then apply some Collinite 845.

Mike Phillips
12-05-2011, 10:04 AM
One thing I've noticed people new to claying do and that is move their hand slowly over the paint. Not saying you did this just something I've noticed other's do. If a person does move their hand slowly over the paint it will make the job last a lot longer.

Here's a video that shows the right way to clay...

Show Car Garage Video: How detailing clay works and how to use detailing clay to remove above surface bonded contaminants (http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-videos/24319-show-car-garage-video-how-detailing-clay-works-how-use-detailing-clay-remove-above-surface-bonded-contaminants.html)

As for using the Pinnacle Paintwork Cleansing Lotion, here's a couple of articles on the topic...

Priming your pad when working by hand (http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/tricks-tips-techniques/36178-priming-your-pad-when-working-hand.html)