PDA

View Full Version : Newbie DA buffer /polisher and pad question

Spiney
11-29-2011, 11:40 PM
I've got a bithday in a few days and Christmas. Wife asked what I want. I want a DA buffer. I'm a newbie and it would be for my own vehicles not a business. I'm thinking Meguair's, Gratiot Garage, or Porter Cable level unit. What would be a good basic pad selection to start, so once I get it I can use it? Though realistically living in PA w/o a heated garage I won't be using it until Spring.
My main objective is my 96 SVT Cobra Black paint. It was a garage queen and well kept, low miles, but under harsh light there are plenty of water spots, swirls, and small scratches. My wife wants a list so she can call or go online and order it.

Follow up question. A member of my Mustang club who used to run a detail shop told me, and unfortunately my wife that he recommends we have it pro detailed, then I can just do the maintainence clean and wax on it. He's afraid I'll take off too much clear coat. With a DA, support from this forum, and me being a very careful person, how likely is that? If this is a real concern I'll save the DA money for the detail and find the best local detailer I can in my area, Reading, Pa

As far as products I already have and have used by hand all Meguiar's products. Gold wash, clay kit, Ultimate compound, ultimate pre cleaner polish, Gold Carnuba wax, Scratch-x 2.0, Chrome wheel polish, ultimate quick detailer, and Quick Detailer in the maroon bottle. For paint correction I'll use what you all suggest but from reading the forum looks like 105 / 205.

Thanks in advance for your feedback , I really appreciate it. Spiney-Dave

tw33k2514
11-29-2011, 11:50 PM
I would get the Griots DA and a 6 pack or two of 5.5 inch flat pads. Orange and white will be your mane polishing pads, so get at least 3 of each of those. And then a blue pad for your wax or sealant of choice.