PDA

View Full Version : starting up an Auto Detailing service

Otto's Auto Detailing
02-20-2007, 09:19 PM
Hi i'm pretty new to car detailing but someone gave me the idea and it sounds like a great buissness and way to make money. Think I'm going to start of fairly basic without using and scartch/swirl remover machines or similar products. I've been particulary been having trouble deciding on proper pricing. To help give you an idea of my service I plan on going to customer's homes and bring all the nessary equipment needed besides water and electrity. I'm not that experience and am not an expert on what all are the best and most resonable products or techniques for detailing. If you have any suggestions that may help me with my future buissness I would be very gracious and open to hear them. Thank you everyone. :)

abrcrombe
02-20-2007, 10:14 PM
I know it seems easy and all, but I would DEFINITELY get a lot of practice under your belt before you think about doing it for money. Once you start doing it for money, figure out how much you want to make an hour and multiply by how long it will take you. How long will it take?? Practice will tell you that one.

Tex Star Detail
02-20-2007, 10:48 PM
Well, hmmmm...where to start. Like said above. Practice ALOT, read alot, learn alot, and be comfortable with what you are doing. If a customer wants swirls removed, you would have to turn them down, since you would not be doing it when you start up. Let's say, a year down the road, that same person is anting swirls removed on the car again, I am sure they would think back and remember you do not do swirl remover, and not call you. Even if you do now.

See what I am saying. Don't start off not knowing your stuff. You will set an image for yourself, and even though you are learning and adding more and more, that customer will remember that you do not do this or that. And then go from there. First impressions are everything.

Business insurance? You'll need it.