PDA

View Full Version : Buffing pad types (not colors) - what is your flavor?

Detail_Dude
11-21-2011, 09:33 AM
Friends -

An enormous amount of reading educated me to the existince of a wide variety of buffing pad 'types', the most popular of which (although in no particular order) are:

- Flat
- CCS
- Hydrotech
- Cross Groove
- Hex

Yep, I realize there are a few different brands across these, ranging from Lake Country to Cobra, to Chemical Guys and Adams. I am also aware the Hydrotech pads are meant to be used with water-based products (e.g., Menzerna & Blackfire - probably others too) as opposed to silicone-based.

I also realize there are a range of colors with varying cuts for specific purposes.

Here come the questions....

Since I am new to detailng, I would like to know which of these is considered 'new' or at least 'recent' technology versus old-school.

What do you folks out there like and why?

Lastly (all good things come in 3's)...what's the concensus on using 5.5" pads (on my PC 7424XP) with only a 3.5" backing plate? A safe bet, or not advisable?

Thanks everyone!

-Jon

Flannigan
11-21-2011, 09:43 AM
I would not use the 5.5" pads on your 3.5" backing plate. The pad won't have enough support and won't work the way it is intended. Either get a bigger BP or use smaller 4" pads.

I would say that the most recent pads from that list are the HT pads. However, since they came out, Meguiars and Optimum have ocme out with Microfiber pads that work great on DA machines. For cutting, I don't think you can beat a MF pad. They cut great, and finish pretty well too on most paints. That being said, the HT tangerine pads are some of the most versitile pads I have ever used. they cut almost as well as LC orange pads, and finish just like the black LC pads. You can use them for medium swirl removal or finishing depending on the polish you pair with them.

hope that helps.

05xrunner
11-21-2011, 10:14 AM
Low Profile HT pads and MF pads

silverfox
11-21-2011, 10:23 AM