PDA

View Full Version : The Perfect Detailer's Toolset

pmartnz
11-20-2011, 10:55 AM
I'm new to the exterior detailing world. I used to only wash my car, spray some tire shine, maybe wax and meticulously detail the inside (first of course) . I would periodically pay for a full detailing service.

I've made a decision to take care of my cars myself. I'm cordially inviting you to share and provide some guidance in investing in "The Perfect Detailer's Toolset".

The idea is to invest in the proper equipment & accessories from the beginning.

Thanks in advance!

mwoolfso
11-20-2011, 11:06 AM
Welcome. I think you will find that based on your personal preferences you perfect toolset will be somewhat unique from others. Of course with a lot of similarities. There are great products depending on you budget and mix preferences for durability, shine, and level of effort required. If you add to your request some of these preferences it may help. There are hundreds of products out there just on AG alone.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk

phantom
11-20-2011, 12:24 PM
I am just like PMARTNZ. I took better care of my cars than most folks. I had interest in buffing and when I saw a "detailer" teaching a new employee on a customer's car I said to myself if that guy is going to to this for the first time on a customer's car than I can do it. I bought a Cyclo and a Griot's 3" one year ago. XMT 360 has worked very well for me this year on two of our vehicles.

tw33k2514
11-20-2011, 01:05 PM
If we are talking tools, then you should not be without these....

2x 5 gallon bucket
2x grit guard
Quality wash mitt
Good hose
Pressure washer or at least a good spray head.
Dozen or so quality microfibers ( rolled edge)
Couple drying towels
Wheel brushes
Hand applicators
Dual action polisher
Large selection of pads
Air compressor

Those are the things I use on an exterior detail. I'm sure I forgot some too.

Ron Atchison
11-20-2011, 01:17 PM