PDA

View Full Version : Swirls on new paint job

Pages : [1] 2

texan solstice
11-10-2011, 12:54 PM
I'm new to AGO so my questions are going to be dumb an I apologize beforehand. Today I went to the body shop to pick up my Aggressive (name of the color, which is red) 2007 Pontiac Solstice. They installed a new custom fiberglass bumper and a new hood. The problem is that when I inspected the car I noticed some swirls so I asked the guy about it and his response was that since the car wasn't just washed and it rained in the morning it looked that way. Since they said it was an easy fix I told them to wash it and fix a little detail I found on the door. The question is is it normal to see swirls on fresh paint? Could it be that it was just a bit dirty, that's why reflections weren't crisp? These guys are supposed to be the best in town I shouldn't be having problems with this. BTW I asked them how long to wait before waxing it and he said since the paint has baked I didn't need to wait. Opinions?

Tundra1316
11-10-2011, 01:02 PM
Can you please, post some pictures of the paint job.
Thanks.

Mike Phillips
11-10-2011, 01:06 PM
The question is is it normal to see swirls on fresh paint?

It's normal to see swirls on fresh paint because it's normal for most body shops to inflict swirls into fresh paint.

The paint didn't have swirls when it came out of the paint booth, it was inflicted with swirls when one of the employees buffed the paint incompletely using only a rotary buffer.

This is called a Horror Story and we read about them all the time and usually help people who are victims of this normal practice in this industry.

Read this...

The story of 3 H's - Horrendous, Horror Story and Hack Detailers... (http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/ask-expert-featuring-mike-phillips/28142-story-3-h-s-horrendous-horror-story-hack-detailers.html)

Note my purposeful use of the words Horror Story in the title...

As for when to wax...