PDA

View Full Version : Pads and Machines

bravozulu
11-05-2011, 05:58 PM
I'm a newbie here. I've got a Festool RO 150. That can switch from Rotary to Random Orbital modes. New to the forum, and it's been 40 years since I last painted (lacquer) some antique cars. So the technology, terminology and products are all new to me. Here's my questions:
a) what do you guy mean by DA?

b) I plan to polish my newly painted Toyota. Since the paint job flowed out well, I'm thinking of starting out with Griot's #4, a swirl remover. If I'm using my Festool in Random Orbit mode, would the Lake Country Constant pressure pads be a good idea?

c) When, if ever does a guy switch over to microfiber pads on a machine?

d)when is a lambs wool pad used?

toycar18
11-05-2011, 08:12 PM
I would suggest watching the videos on AG and You Tube.

Autogeek As Seen On TV (http://www.autogeek.net/as-seen-on-tv.html)
autogeek's Channel - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/autogeek)

Watching several of the videos will help a bunch. DA stands for Dual Action.

I would highly recommend using the following kit:
The Wolfgang Total Swirl Remover Kit is the total solution to swirled, hazy paint. If you like the slick, glossy look of Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint (http://www.autogeek.net/wolfgang-swirl-kit.html)

It has everything you need to easily polish and seal your paint. Wolfgang, Pinnacle, XMT, DP all have super high quality products that are easy to use.

mjlinane
11-05-2011, 09:27 PM
a) DA = RO
b) I like constant pressure pads.
c) MF pads as in Megs or Optimum's? These are for heavier correction than foam (at least the cutting pads).
d) Heavy rotary correction

Paul Mitchell
11-05-2011, 09:41 PM