PDA

View Full Version : Poor Man's Corvette - 1973 Opel GT on My Classic Car with Dennis Gage - Cyclo Polisher



Pages : 1 2 [3]

bulldog shine
01-04-2012, 07:50 AM
I always loved the Opels, but I thought a poor man's Vette was a CHEVETTE. I hate those. :xyxthumbs:

Rencor
02-10-2012, 10:00 PM
Such a cool car! It's funny how back then they were frowned upon. I could rattle a list of cars that I was embarrassed to be dropped off at school in. But man, today, I wish my parents kept a few of them!

Mike Phillips
05-08-2012, 03:50 PM
***Reminder***


Brand new Autogeek how-to segment coming up this Sunday!



My Classic Car - Episode 17010 Cyclo Polisher Segment Segment


Sunday, May 13th at 12:30pm Eastern Time and 9:30am Pacific Time

Tuesday, May 15th at 4:30pm Eastern Time and 1:30pm Pacific Time

Sunday, May 20th at 9:30am Eastern Time and 6:30am Pacific Time


:xyxthumbs:

Mike Phillips
05-15-2012, 07:53 AM
My Classic Car is on today with the segment using Dennis's personal Opel GT.

I've heard this segment came out good, have not seen it yet myself.


Tuesday, May 15 @ 4:30pm Eastern Time and 1:30pm Pacific Time



:)

Mike Phillips
05-20-2012, 08:35 AM
***Bump***

It's on right now and Jay Leno and his collection of Turbo cars are on this episode!

This is a very good episode with some very rare and unique cars. My segment with Dennis came our really well too.



Im the MAN

Mike Phillips
06-11-2012, 03:28 PM
***Update***


The video for this how-to segment has been added to the first post of this thread.




:)

Klasse Act
06-11-2012, 03:58 PM
Cool car in nice condition. Most are left to "rusting-out". :(
The TinyVettes were much better looking than the Ford/Mercury Capris of the same time period, IMO.

Thanks for sharing!

Bob

I'm sure your a Vette fan and all but your "Plastic Fantastic" glasses are getting all fogged up I believe:

http://carphotos.cardomain.com/ride_images/1/3427/3661/8566830002_large.jpg

http://www.motorsportretro.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/ford-capri.jpg

http://www.namt.com.au/web/cars/356-2010.jpg

I'm barely old enough to remember the Opel GT and Ford (Merc) Capri's but IMO, the Capri body lines are sexy as hell whereas the Opel is well, "trying" be something its not. That being said, the Opel GT is cool but I guess I like the Capri much better:props:

Mike Phillips
06-11-2012, 04:16 PM
My parents purchased a Capri in 1973 or 1974, I remember driving it when I first got my driver's license. It was fun sporty little car.


:)