PDA

View Full Version : Hello all new guy from Philly

Pages : [1] 2

xios29
10-12-2011, 07:04 AM
I just purchase a new honda crosstour in pear white. I am new to detailing my cars. I really never took care them. I really want to take care of this one.

1 Whats the best way to maintain a white car to keep it protected and shiny?

2 What products are recommended for white cars?

thanks any help would be much appreciated

Terri

JBL
10-12-2011, 08:44 AM
Welcome aboard!

First and foremost, I have a 2008 Honda Accord, and unless they did anything to change the paint or clearcoat, they can swirl rather easily. Automatic carwashes (:nomore:), dirty towels/sponges or anything else left to touch the paint in more than a friendly pat will leave a mark. That being said, you're in the right place to prevent that or take care of it once it happens (besides, it happens to every car at one point in time).

As far as white goes, I'm not the person to ask, but I know there will be a lot of good responses to follow. With winter right around the corner, I'm sure plenty of people will recommend Collinite #845 as a coat to protect your car for the the next few months. I actually just applied some to mine and was strangely excited for the rain we're having today (I'm in Philly too).

Read up and have a good time. Tons to learn in here and plenty of friendly faces (er, screen-names?) to help out.

FWIW...I think you should take a look at these...

Auto Detailing Facts, auto detailing Tips, How to detailing Guides, how to polish, how to wax, DIY detailing, do it yourself guides (http://www.autogeek.net/detailingtips.html)

There's a bunch in there that cover everything from simple wash techiques to full-on paint corrections. I actually even printed a bunch when I was first starting to get serious just for reference. There's even a Winterization link. Give it a look.

alko
10-12-2011, 08:51 AM